Notice of Annual School Board Election

The annual election for the Pleasant Hope R-VI School District will be held on Tuesday, April 6, 2021. The purpose of this election will be to elect two (2) members to the Board of Education. Each elected term will be 3 years in length.

A candidate must be a US citizen, at least 24 years of age, a Missouri resident for at least 1 year, and a resident of the school district. Newly elected board members must attend 18.5 hours of training and orientation during their first year. Persons interested in filing as a candidate may file in the Central Office at 303 N Main, Pleasant Hope, MO. Candidates filing on the first day will draw a number at random and their names will be placed on the ballot in ascending order of numbers drawn, ahead of the names of candidates filing on a later date. The names of candidates filing on later dates will be placed on the ballot after the first day filing candidates, in order of filing.

Candidates may file during regular business hours 8:00am-3:30pm, Tuesday-Friday, beginning on December 15, 2020. Central office will not be open on inclement weather days or regularly scheduled days out. Central office will remain open until 5:00pm on the last day of filing, January 19, 2021.

Masks are required in the central office and we ask that you maintain social distancing while in the building.

G-225-P Board Training and Development

To act effectively as the elected governing body of the District, the Board and individual Board members must be well trained regarding significant education policy issues and all items over which the Board exercises decision-making authority. The Board will annually assess its training and development needs and develop a training program to ensure all Board members and officers are sufficiently trained to successfully fulfill their responsibilities.

New Board members must successfully complete eighteen and one half hours of orientation and training within one (1) year of the date of election or appointment. This training shall include at least two hours and thirty minutes of training that provides up-to-date and reliable information on identifying signs of sexual abuse in children and danger signals of potentially abusive relationships between children and adults, as required by law.

Any school Board member serving a term as of August 28, 2019, or elected or appointed after August 28, 2019, shall complete at least one hour of refresher training each year of any term in office related to the prevention of sexual abuse of children as required by law; except that, the refresher training shall not be required in the year in which the member completes initial orientation and training.

All programs providing the orientation and training must be offered by a statewide association organized for the benefit of members of Boards or be approved by the State Board.

The District will invest in the development of the Board as a whole, Board officers, and Board members individually to ensure the successful performance of the Board’s role and responsibilities. The costs of all such training and development will be paid by the District.

Adoption Date(s): August 13, 2020